Mundelein High School

News - Details

Seven MHS student artists to vie for coveted scholarships

Katelyn Culp
Artist Katelyn Culp

Seven Mundelein High School students will be among the best 1,000 student artists from 125 Illinois high schools when they showcase their art and vie for more than $20 million in college scholarships at the fifth annual Illinois High School Art Exhibition [IHSAE].  Representing MHS are Sydney Blackmer, Garrett Cohen, Katelyn Culp, Mathilde Hanchard, Rebecca Panos, Ryan Story and Cindy Szabo. They will showcase their artwork at the exhibit and qualify to earn one of the available scholarships. The show runs from February 12 through March 9 at the Zhou B Art Center and Bridgeport Art Center in Chicago’s Bridgeport neighborhood.

The exhibition’s main general exhibition event will take place Sunday, Feb. 25 and will feature ceremonies, early college scholarship announcements, awards presentations and college recruitments at the Zhou B Art Center and senior scholarship announcements at the Bridgeport Art Center.

“The scholarships will continue a robust IHSAE tradition that has facilitated $80 million plus cumulatively for more than 900 students since our first event in 2014,” said Chris Sykora, co-creator of IHSAE, which uniquely collaborates with public, private and charter high schools and more than 35 college art schools nationwide.

The IHSAE is a not-for-profit corporation whose mission is the advancement of visual arts education through exhibition. Developed by teachers for students in 2014, the organization is run by full-time art educators who collaborate with corporate sponsors, art schools/colleges/universities/ and participating public, private and charter high schools to celebrate and award the artistic talents of Illinois high school art students.

Michael Bale, Jonathan Pruc and Peter Schrenk comprise the art faculty at Mundelein High School. David Mork is the Applied and Fine Arts department chair.


Sydney Blackmer
Sydney Blackmer
Garrett Cohen
Katelyn Culp
Katelyn Culp
Mathilde Hanchard
Rebecca Panos
Ryan Story
Ryan Story
Cindy Szabo

Back to news