Mundelein High School

News - Details

MHS brings back Mustang Pride awards and honors 11 students

Mustang Pride group photo

A few years ago Mundelein High School discontinued its monthly Mustang Pride awards breakfasts but they have been brought back again by Principal Anthony Kroll and Dean of Students Meghan Bargar. The first recognition breakfast for the students, their parents and nominating staff members was held Thursday, Dec. 13.

Students may be nominated for a number of reasons, both academic and social. Some of those reasons can include acts of kindness, raising a grade or grade point average significantly, tutoring other students, assisting staff members in class and many others.

This month’s honorees and their nominating staff members include:

Natalie Avalos, nominated by Kelly Schur; Vu Bui, nominated by Cynthia Henrichs; Carolynne Burk, and Jocelyn Chavarria, both nominated by David Greenwood; Kevin Conejo Valerio, nominated by Larry Calhoun; Anish Gadre, nominated by Jenna Lumsden; Neveah Greenlee, nominated by Carsyn Rodriguez; Erick Mendez, nominated by Nicole Pomerleau; Luis Cruz Mesta, nominated by Samantha Rivera and Andrea Rusk; Kellie-Anne Shanahan, nominated by Brett Wilhelm; and Morgan Shurtz, nominated by David Mork.

During the breakfast meetings the nominating staff members give a brief introduction of their honorees, stating the reasons for the nomination. Following the awards, the parents of the honorees join their children and staff members enjoying breakfast together.

“I’m glad that we have brought this tradition back,” Kroll said. “We have so many students every year who go ‘above and beyond’ and it is with pride that we honor them in this way.”

Back to news