Mundelein High School

News - Details

Mustangs heading back to school Monday, Aug. 13

back to school
Back to school

Mustangs heading back to school Monday, Aug. 13

All Mundelein High School students will start school with a regular schedule Monday, Aug. 13. Freshmen will have their Orientation Day on Wednesday, Aug. 8 from 7:45 a.m. to 1 p.m. while staff will return for two Institute Days on Thursday and Friday, Aug. 9 and 10.

Second year for eight-period schedule

This will be the second year that MHS will be on a traditional eight-period day after 20 years on a 4X4 block schedule. The schedule will remain the same except for a couple “tweaks” based on feedback from students and staff at the close of last year. One of those modifications will include a freshman advisory period during lunch periods on selected days.

New staff for 2018-2019

When Mundelein High School opens its doors on Aug. 13 for the first day of school, more than 30 new staff members will greet the students along with  the returning staff. New to MHS for this school year are the following:
Administration:  Meghan Bargar, dean of students; Victor Garcia, dean of students; Shane McCreery, human resources director; and Mike Pope, assistant principal.
Certified/Teaching Staff:  Emmanuel Aldana, science; Eric Billittier, special education; John Cowhey, math; Bridget Erickson, wellness; Melinda Finn, transition program; Colin Guibault, special education; Patrick Hennelly, math; Ju Hyun Kim, special education; Allison Liberacki, special education; Michael Loew, psychologist; Alex Miramontes, special education; Christopher Sweeno, math; Jennifer Taylor, special education and Samuel Yeates, business education.
Classified Staff:  Sol Cabachuela, parent liaison; Rene Howard, security; Maggie Kirkman, instructional aide in special education; Konrad Kwasniak, technology; Rena McMahon, instruction aide/transition program; Bill Owens, instructional aide, special education; Samantha Perlini, instructional aide, special education; Rochelle Pfeifer, secretary, special education; Angela Ramirez, secretary for community coordinator, facilities and technology directors; Julian Rocha, instructional aide, transition program; Joanna Rodriguez, secretary for the assistant principal
In addition, three current staff members have moved into new jobs for the coming year. Larry Calhoun, formerly a business education teacher is now the department chair for the Fine and Applied Arts Department; former Instructional Aide Andrew Hood is now a teacher in the social studies department; and Samantha Smigielski has moved from being a dean of students to being a counselor in the guidance department.

Back to news